In 1749, French Sulpician priest Abbé Picquet established Fort de La Presentation where the St. Lawrence and Oswegatchie Rivers meet at what is now Ogdensburg in Northern New York. By 1755 the settlement included 2,000 Iroquois loyal to France. It was abandoned in 1760 as British troops approached during the French and Indian War.

This watercolor shows Fort La Presentation exactly as it was on Aug. 16, 1760, when six British row galleys attacked the French ship L’Outaouaise (the Ottawa) near the fort. It was painted by Thomas Davies, who occupied one of the galleys during the battle.

Donate Button with Credit Cards

Discover Fort La Presentation video

Click This Link for Fort La Presentation Merchandise

Fort La Presentation 2022 Year in Review

Maple Sugaring at the Fort on March 18

What’s New…

Please become a member of the Association

Donate Button with Credit Cards
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close